Etisalat Adopts Community School In Anambra, Concludes Tertiary Scholarship Program


In furtherance of its commitment to the development of the education sector and the economy at large, Nigeria’s most customer-centric network, Etisalat, has adopted Oraukwu Community Secondary School in Idemili-North Local Government Area of Anambra State, South -East Nigeria under its Corporate Social Responsibility-based Adopt-a-School initiative.


The Etisalat Adopt-a-School initiative avails pupils and students in government-owned primary and secondary schools access toqualitative education with access to a range of modern education facilities.


Speaking on the new development, Ikenna Ikeme, Director, Regulatory and Corporate Social Responsibility, Etisalat Nigeria, said the telecoms firm is glad to add a new school to the growing list of schools under its Adopt-a-School Programme, just as he commended the education authorities in the state for choosing to partner with the company for the development of the younger generation through access to qualitative education.


Ikeme also added that the initiative is borne out of the company’s commitment to leverage the potentials of quality education to drive the sustainable development programme of the nation.


“In Etisalat, we recognize the fact that education is the bedrock of any meaningful development; that is why we have made education one of our three CSR platforms.


“The initiative is aimed at providing an environment conducive for learning which will bring out the best in our pupils. We are committed to driving sustainable development and one of the key platforms on which that can be achieved is education. Like our other adopted schools, we will implement key components that willensure sustainable impact on the quality of education in Oraukwu Community Secondary School,” he said.


Under the Adopt-a-School initiative, Etisalat has renovated class rooms and toilets, provided clean water, internet facilities, furniture, laboratory equipment and many more to the three existing adopted schools namely Government Girls’ College Dala, Kano State, Edward Blyden Memorial Primary Schooland Akande Dahunsi Memorial Junior and Senior School, Ikoyi, Lagos State.

In a related development, the telecommunications company has concluded the 2016 Merit Awards Scholarship Scheme with the presentation of Scholarship certificates to students in four Universities across the country. The beneficiary universities include Modibbo Adamawa University of Technology, Niger Delta University, Bayelsa State, Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu and Uthman Dan Fodio University, Sokoto.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.