we’re social

Sahara Group’s Pearl Uzokwe Joins Board of Malala Funds


Director for Governance and Sustainability at Sahara Group Limited in Nigeria, Pearl Uzokwe has been announced as one of the two new board members of Malala Fund, alongside Dr. Modupe Adefeso-Olateju.

As experts in international development, law and gender policy, Modupe and Pearl will help guide the efforts of Malala Fund in championing girls’ education around the world.

small: we’re social

“In the next five years, Malala Fund wants to see more girls in school, better financing for education and more young women in decision-making spaces. To guide us in this work, we are growing and building a board that brings enhanced representation of thought and lived experience to our mission,” says Malala Yousafzai, Co-founder and Board Chair. “Modupe and Pearl are committed to building a better world for girls and I am honoured for them to bring their perspectives and talents to Malala Fund.”

As a qualified solicitor and member of the Law Society of England and Wales, Pearl previously worked on the legal team at Sahara Group and supported its international growth. Pearl has also worked with the Crown Agents supporting the Department for International Development (DFID), as well as with donor country governments like France, South Africa and the U.K. and private nonprofits like the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the Emerging Africa Infrastructure Fund.

“Having witnessed firsthand the far-reaching divergence of trajectories that educating versus not educating the girl child can have, I am driven to ensure that a collective and collaborative approach is taken to ensure that as many girls as possible are offered this priceless opportunity. Educating the girl child is a critical component for development and I am incredibly honored and excited to be joining Malala Fund with its clear mission, targeting just that,” says Pearl.

Pearl and Modupe join Malala Fund’s existing board which includes our co-founders Malala and Ziauddin Yousafzai, as well as Akhter Mateen, Alaa Murabit, Fayeeza Naqvi, Françoise Moudouthe, Lynn Taliento and Susan McCaw.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.