WhatsApp Introduces Three New Privacy Features
Instant messaging app owned by Meta, Whatsapp has introduced three new features as part of effort to make its app more secured and easier for users.
The company said the new features will ‘”provide even more layers of protection” and give users more control over their conversations on the app.
According to the company, WhatsApp will allow users to leave group chats without alerting members within such groups. It said, “We love our group chats but some are not forever. We’re making it possible to exit a group privately without making it a big deal to everyone. Now, instead of notifying the full group when you are leaving, only the admins will be notified. This feature will start to roll out to all users this month.”
It will also disable making a screenshot on messages set to delete after it has been read or viewed once. The view once feature which was rolled out last year August will now have an added layer of privacy.
“Now we’re enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an added layer of protection. We’re testing this feature now and are excited to roll it out to users soon,” it stated.
The last privacy feature will allow users to control who can see them when they are online, a feature that will roll out to users this month.
“For the moments that you want to keep your online presence private, we’re introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online.”
In addition, Meta’s Chief Executive Officer, Mark Zuckerberg said “New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages. We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,” he said.