How Delegates Voted, Nkechi Alli-Balogun Missed Out of NIPR Governing Council

Mrs Nkechi Ali-Balogun

It is no longer news that the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), has elected Dr. Ike Neliaku of Rightangle PR and Prof. Emmanuel Dan Daura as President and Vice-President respectively, alongside 15 others as members of the Governing Council of the Institute at the end of its Annual General Meeting and elections in Abuja.

The 17 elected Council Members alongside government nominees that include Esan Ebunoluwa Omolara, Mr. Lanre Onilu, Jibrin Baba Ndache, Brig. Gen. Sani Kukasheka Usman, and Maryam Sanusi, made the decision for the two top positions after convening a conclave. The elected the President and Vice President will also double as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Governing Council for a tenure of two years.

In what has been described as the institute’s most participatory and fiercely competitive election to date, 29 contenders vied for the 17 available slots on the governing council. Notably, the contest commenced with 29 candidates, and while the electoral process was underway, only one candidate withdrew from the race, leaving 28 individuals in contention.

Recall that the primary contenders for the Presidency of the institute were two NIPR Fellows, Dr. Ike Neliaku of the FCT Chapter, and Mrs. Nkechi Ali-Balogun of Lagos. However, in a surprising twist of events, Nkechi Ali-Balogun fell short in securing the necessary votes to secure a spot among the 17 available slots on the council. This unexpected outcome paved the way for a seamless ascension for Neliaku.

Delegates and insiders, wishing to remain anonymous, have shed light on the factors that contributed to the subdued support for Ali-Balogun and her lower than expected vote count of 378. One delegate from Lagos attributed this partly to a perceived strained relationship between Ali-Balogun and numerous members of the Lagos NIPR community. Surprisingly, he noted that Ali-Balogun’s tally of 378 votes was higher than he anticipated, considering the perceived dynamics. He suggested that her intensified campaign efforts in the lead-up to the elections may have played a role in accruing those votes, even if it ultimately fell short for her to secure a Council position.

Another source hinted at the broader undercurrents of rivalry between the Abuja Chapter and the Lagos Chapter of NIPR, as well as the tension between the organized private sector – symbolized by Lagos – and the public sector, predominantly led by the Abuja Chapter. These undercurrents, as perceived by this source, may have influenced the emergence of Dr. Ike Neliaku from the Abuja Chapter.

However, the situation is not entirely disheartening for the Lagos Chapter, as two of its members successfully secured positions on the Council. Among them is the notable Thelma Okoh, whose commendable efforts as the Coordinator of the Abuja 2023 NIPR AGM have been widely recognized, and  Bajulaiye Adetokunbo.

Here is how delegates vote for the 17 Elected Council Members

1. Dr SuleYau Sule-868 void 20

2. Ini Ememobong Essien-867 void 3

3. Dr Ike Neliaku-830 void 10

4. Bashir Adamu Chedi-815 void 18

5. Dr Adewale Oladipo Oyekanmi-811 void 23

6. Okoh Thelma Chika-808 void 22

7. Kabir Ali Kobi-795 void 3

8. Adaramola Temitope-788 void 13

9. Professor Kate Azuga Ominuga-753 void 11

10. Dr Saidat Salah Abdulnaqi-713 void 27

11. Prof Emmanuel Dandaura-695 void 16

12. Professor Sarah Benjamin Luwahas-673 void 10

13. Prince Ford Ozumba-656 void 6

14. Pastor Paulinus Eyinda Nsirim-648 void 2

15. Olubunmi Adedoyin Badejo-630 void 12

16. Akin Agbejule-612 void 25.

17. Bajulaiye Adetokunbo-593 void 23

Other Candidates who contested:

18. Yakubu Gomos-584 void 3

19. Charles Aniagu-485 void 14.

20. Sajoh Ahmad Ibrahim -390 void 7

21. Nkechi Ali-Balogun-375 void 11

22. Aliyu Umar Aliyu-314 void 13.

23. Hogan Eyo Bassey-305 void 6

24. Afolabi Olajuwon-288 void 9.

25. Lamidi Ishola Kamarudeen- 288 void 8

26. Sunday Adelabu Adeyemi Adejorin-239 void 7

27. Samuel Tobih Oseluka-233 void 3

28. Princely Kingsley Ngunu-208 void

1 Comment
  1. Remilekun Ibidunni Oladeinde says

    Very fiercely contested late into the night, member delegates passion for those to mount the leadership saddle was intense.! Well deserved!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.