What To Expect Today As NIPR Conference, AGM & Elections Officially Kick Off


The capital city of Nigeria, Abuja, is bustling with anticipation as delegates and members of the National Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) from across the nation gather for the highly anticipated 2023 edition of their Annual Conference, General Meeting, and pivotal elections.

The event which will be held under the theme ‘Leadership, Public Relations & Value Creation’, is taking place at the prestigious NAF Suites in Abuja.

Kicking off the eventful day is the Annual Conference, scheduled to commence at 10 a.m. this morning. With the evolving landscape of leadership and the critical role of public relations in value creation as a central focus, attendees are primed for engaging insights and stimulating conversations.

Following the conference, the Annual General Meeting of the NIPR will convene an avenue for the Institute’s members to reflect on the accomplishments of the past year, chart the path ahead, and address any pertinent matters relevant to the Institute’s mission.

The highlight of the day’s proceedings, however, is the council elections of the Institute. As the tenure of Mallam Mukhtar Zubairu Sirajo, the outgoing President, draws to a close after a five-year stint, the mantle of leadership is up for grabs. Today’s elections will determine the individual who will steer the course of the Institute’s affairs in the coming years.

Among the notable contenders vying for the esteemed position of President, two frontrunners have emerged: Nkechi Alli-Balogun, the Principal Consultant/CEO of NECCI Ltd, and Dr. Ike Neliaku, the Executive Vice Chairman of Right-angle PR. Alongside these prominent figures, other candidates are also in the running, making the race for the presidency a captivating one.

How the election is done

The President and Vice president are elected by the electoral college constituted by the council to preside over the affairs of the institute. Thereafter they are referred to as Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively. Administratively, the council appoints a Registrar, whose duty among others, is to prepare and maintain the register of members in accordance with the rules made by the Council. The Council is the governing body of the Institute. Ultimately all acts undertaken by the NIPR’s officers and staff are in the name of, and with the authority of, the Council.

NIPR’s 22-member Governing Council is composed of 17 elected members sitting as an electoral college, and 5 members appointed by the Federal Government, every two years. From its inception till date (1963 – 2014), the Institute has produced 13 Presidents.

They include Dr. Sam Epelle (1963 – 1968), Chief Kanu Offonry (1968 – 1972),Tonye Willie Harry          (1972 – 1976), Alhaji Ikhaz Yakubu (1976 – 1980), Chief Bob Ogbuagu (1980 – 1984), Chief Alex Akinyele         (1984 – 1988), Mazi Mike Okereke (1988 – 1993), (lhaji Sabo Mohammed  (1993 – 1998), Chief Jibade Oyekan (1998 – 2001) and Senebo Bobo Brown (2001 – 2005).

Others include Professor Ike Nwosu  (2005 – 2009), Alhaji Mohammed A. Abdullahi (2009 – 2013), Dr. Rotimi Oladele (2013 – 2018) and Mallam Mukhtar Sirajo  (2018 – 2023).

From 1963 till date

The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations hitherto known as the Public Relations Association of Nigeria, until when it was renamed in 1972, was established in 1963. The body attained the status of a Chartered Institute on June 1st, 1990 through Decree No. 16 (now an Act of the National Assembly). This Law empowers the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations to register members, regulate and monitor the practice/development of the PR Profession as well as monitor professional conduct through an established Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct. As it is, the practice with respectable professional organizations everywhere, the law allows standard academic and professional qualifications for admissions into the Institute.

The history of NIPR’s formation will not be complete without referencing the foundation members; who include, the pioneer President – Late Dr. Sam Epelle, Alex Nwokedi, Aduke Alakija, Theo Awobogu, Kunle Ojora, Wilton High and Dan Agbakova, who came together and pulled the first initiative that resulted in the establishment of the Institute.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.