Just In: New Era Ushers In Ufot As New AAAN BoT Chair As Omojafor Bows Out

Mr. Steve Babaeko, President, AAAN (left) and Mr. Udeme Ufot, newly

The executive Board of the Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) has announced a change of guards and membership of its distinguished Board of Trustees (BoT) which was before now, chaired by advertising icon and veteran, Sir Steve Omojafor.

In a statement signed by the association’s President, Mr. Steve Babaeko, Sir Omojafor’s  successful tenure came to an end, apaving way for the subsequent ratification by the AAAN Executive Board of a new leadership under the chairmanship of Mr. Udeme Ufot (MFR) as the new Chairman.

“I am pleased to announce that, following the successful tenure of the Board of Trustees led by Sir Steve Omojafor and subsequent ratification by the Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) Executive Board, Mr. Udeme Ufot (MFR) has been unanimously chosen by the BOT and EXCO to usher in a new era as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees. With his notable experience as a former President and APCON Chairman, Mr. Ufot has been a steadfast supporter of the Association, and we are confident that his leadership will bring progress and development. Join me in extending heartfelt congratulations to him,” the statement read.

Having previously served as President of AAAN as well as Chairman of the Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON), Udemeis expected to bring over 30 years of experience and invaluable perspective that will guide the association into a new era of progress and advancement.

In addition to welcoming Mr. Ufot, AAAN also celebrates the return of Mr. Lolu Akinwunmi to the Board of Trustees. As a former President of AAAN and APCON Chairman himself, the statement notes that Mr. Akinwunmi’s counsel and leadership will be instrumental in charting the path forward. “This marks a historic moment for AAAN with two former Presidents and APCON Chairmen serving concurrently on the board,” it noted.

Joining them are three newly appointed members – Mrs. Omowunmi Owodunni, Mr. Kelechi Nwosu, and Mr. Funmi Onabolu. While thanking Sir Omojafor for his outstanding contributions as Chairman of the BoT during his tenure, AAAN expressed its excitement towards an exciting new chapter under the guidance of Mr. Ufot and the revitalized Board of Trustees.

The Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (was founded in 1973 as a sectoral body within the Nigerian marketing communications landscape and has become a force to be reckoned with both locally and internationally. Formerly known as Association of Advertising Practitioners of Nigeria (AAPN), the Association formally changed its name from Association of Advertising Practitioners of Nigeria (AAPN) to Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) on Saturday May 1st, 2004 at Lekki Peninsula Resort, Ajah, Lagos during its 31st AGM/Congress. AAAN is the umbrella body that coordinates and promotes the interest of Advertising Agencies in Nigeria.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.