NIPR Endorses 20 Categories For National Spokespersons’ Awards


The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) has endorsed 20 award categories for the forthcoming National Spokespersons’ Awards (NSAwards).

This development was made known by the Vice President of NIPR, Professor Emmanuel Dandaura shortly after the Minister of Information and National Orientation, Alhaji Idris Malagi, unveiled the action plan for the forthcoming National Spokespersons’ Summit, billed for March 2024.

Prof. Dandaura said the award ceremony, which is being organised in partnership with Image Merchants Promotion Limited (IMPR), the publishers of PRNigeria, Economic Confidential, and Spokespersons’ Digest, is to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of communication professionals and spokespersons across Nigeria.

According to him, “The idea of the award is to identify spokespersons who are doing extraordinarily well in their communication and engagement with the public and serving as worthy role models to upcoming practitioners.”

Dandaura also commended the Information Minister for unveiling the action plan for the National Spokespersons’ Summit being organised by the NIPR in collaboration with the Ministry and the National Orientation Agency (NOA).

In his wrods, “The National Spokespersons’ Summit, which was unveiled by the Honourable Minister, a Fellow of the institute, will attract brilliant minds in the profession to teach, inspire, and learn. While the Summit will provide the opportunity for learning the latest skills and trends, the award ceremony will provide the opportunity for networking and gaining insights into successful PR campaigns by spokespersons.”

The Coordinating Chairman of the National Spokespersons Awards Committee and former Chairman of the Lagos Chapter of NIPR, Mr. Segun Mcmedal, said the awards would encourage creativity, inclusivity, and measurable impact in public communication, stakeholders’ engagement, issues, and reputation management, among others.

He disclosed that the award entries would be assessed by a jury comprising communication scholars, PR practitioners, and media personalities based on the campaign objectives, channel selection, creativity and innovation, engagement with the audience, and effective impact.

Speaking further, McMedal said the award categories would recognise outstanding spokespersons in Political Communication, Crisis Communication, Financial Services, Technology, Sustainable Environment, Military and Security Services.

Other categories include accomplished spokespersons in the public sector, both in the federal and state governments, as well as the three branches of government: the judiciary, legislature, and executive arms.

Similarly, the award would recognise professional excellence in Civil Society Organisations, International/Multinational bodies, Corporate Governance and Regulatory Compliance.

Mr. Mcmedal announced as the official portal for the submission of entries for the National Spokespersons’ Awards.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.